Thursday, April 29, 2010

Shakespeare in chronological (historical) order


Further to my earlier post about the BBC’s Shakespeare Collection (which arrived yesterday!), I just found a handy-dandy list of the plays, in chronological order. It may not be 100% correct, but it’s close enough for me; I’m a bit of a sucker for a timeline :)

1300-1200 BC A Midsummer Night's Dream, The Two Noble Kinsmen

1300-1200 BC Troilus and Cressida

450 BC Pericles, Prince of Tyre

431-404 BC Timon of Athens

400 BC Coriolanus, The Winter's Tale

254-184 BC A Comedy of Errors

44 BC Julius Caesar

30 BC Antony and Cleopatra

40 AD Cymbeline

300-400 AD Titus Andronicus

400 AD King Lear

700 AD Hamlet

1005-1057 AD Macbeth

1199-1216 AD King John

1200s AD Love's Labors Lost, The Taming of the Shrew,
Two Gentlemen of Verona

1260-1387 AD Romeo and Juliet

1300s Merchant of Venice, Much Ado about Nothing, As You Like it, Twelfth Night, All's Well that Ends Well

1327-1377 AD Edward III

1377-1399 AD Richard II

1399-1413 AD Henry IV

1413-1422 AD Henry V

1422-1471 AD Henry VI

1483-1485 AD Richard III

1509-1547 AD Henry VIII

late 1500 AD Othello, Measure for Measure

1609 AD The Tempest

No comments:

Post a Comment